

Governor Chris L. Jensen

Administrator

Building a Safer Idaho

**Damage Prevention Board** 

1090 East Watertower Street Suite 150 Meridian, Idaho 83642 Main # 1-800-955-3044 Fax # 1-877-810-2840 dpbcomplaints@dbs.idaho.gov

## **COMPLAINT PROCESS**

Complaints regarding an alleged violation may be made by any individual and shall be made to the Division of Building Safety Administrator. Make sure all fields on the complaint form are complete and accurate.

**Initial filing:** Complaint forms can be found on our website,

https://damageprevention.dbs.idaho.gov, under Guidelines & Forms. Complaints shall be filed with the DBS administrator no later than 30 days from the alleged violation date or 30 days from when the complainant became aware of the alleged violation. Also, notice of a complaint shall also be served concurrently on the alleged violator by the person submitting the complaint. Verifiable proof of such notification of a complaint provided to the alleged violator shall also be provided to the administrator. Complaint forms and documentation can be sent to dpbcomplaints@dbs.Idaho.gov.

**Response:** The DBS administrator shall notify the violator of the complaint and request a response. The alleged violator has 30 days from the date on the Notice of Probable Violation letter to provide a response to the DBS administrator. When responding please include as much information/documentation about the alleged violation as you can, such as Digline/Password ticket information, pictures, etc.

**Recommendation:** Once the DBS administrator has a recommended course of action they will send out a letter stating such. These consist of warning, recommended training, and civil penalty letters. If the administrator comes to the conclusion that the alleged violator was not at fault or that the complainant did not provide enough proof for their case, there will be a letter informing both parties of this decision.

**Contest:** After receiving the recommended course of action, the violator will have 30 days to contest said actions. Once you have filed a contest request a DBS administrator will get ahold of you with the date and time of the board meeting in which you will be presenting your case to the board. You can attend these meetings at any of our offices which include Meridian, Pocatello and Coeur d'Alene. You can also be teleconferenced in if you request to do so. After both the violator and complainant have had a chance to provide their case (please bring any documents to help do so), the Damage Prevention Board will discuss and come to a decision.



## **Damage Prevention Complaint Process**

